Kale Chips

I used to think that I hated kale. I honestly though that people who claimed to like kale were being entirely disingenuous. Recently, I’ve discovered Native Foods and their kale-heavy dishes have changed my mind completely.
Now, I’m something of a kale enthusiast. I’ve been on a kick where I eat kale at least once a day, every day. Over the weekend I made homemade kale chips. Oh, my! Are they good. They rival roasted seaweed as my new favorite snack.

kale chips

Kale Chips

  • A bunch of kale, rinsed, dried, and thick stems cut off
  • olive oil
  • sea salt
  • cumin
  • cayenne pepper

Preheat the oven to 250°F. Spray kale with olive oil in a large bowl and toss. Sprinkle with salt, cumin, and cayenne pepper. Arrange leaves in a single layer on 2 baking sheets. Bake until crisp, about 30 minutes, turning the leaves every 10 minutes. Transfer leaves to a wire rack to cool.
Mary

 

 

2 thoughts on “Kale Chips

  1. I’m seriously excited to read how easy this is. Kale is delicious. It’s so bad-ass, it’s like the Christian Bale of the leafy greens — the Christian Kale if you will. I’m going to try this…maybe with some variety in the spicing department. Kale chips cost like $7.99 at Whole Foods and Plum Market… if all goes well, maybe we can start a small-batch kale chip company. 🙂

Say Hello!

