Thanksgiving Traditions

This will be the first year in a while that I will be able to spend Thanksgiving with my family. Because of this, I’m inordinately excited about the upcoming holiday. I spent most of this weekend dreaming of cornucopias full of pies and glistening turkeys. I also began to think about Thanksgiving traditions. They can take so many different forms, from the nostalgia inducing traditions of your childhood to the attempt at carving out your own traditions as an adult.

As a kid my entire extended family always gathered together for Thanksgiving dinner. I remember sitting at the kid’s table with my cousins dressed up in our holiday best.

kid's table
from Mer Fuller

Trevor’s family had a more low key Thanksgiving at home and then celebrated with the extended family the day after. He and his brothers and dad would always play Monopoly before dinner.

1950s MONOPOLY GAME Family Playing Photo Vintage Recreation Leisure
from Christian Montone

On Thanksgiving we always had the parade playing on television in the morning and when the family got together we’d watch the Lions lose.

parade
from lynneeve

Mary

Say Hello!

