Our Favorite: Halloween Hits

My two favorite things about holidays are seasonal food and music. Much to the chagrin of the people around me, I usually make a few holiday mixes that I listen to non-stop. Here’s a few of my favorite songs to listen to during Halloween.

Bobby (Boris) Picket and the Crypt-Kickers The Monster Mash

This is the quintessential Halloween song, so I couldn’t leave it off the list. There are countless other monster dance songs from the 50s and 60s, but none have the kind of staying power that this one does. I had an awesome record of novelty songs from this era called Monster Mash as a kid. I recently re-purchased it.

Bauhaus Bela Lugosi’s Dead

Spooky Bauhaus had to show up on this list at some point. What better than a song that references the star of Dracula. Also, I couldn’t find a video for Cry Little Sister.

Sheb Wooley Purple People Eater

This is another song that made an appearance on my Monster Mash record. Really what is even going on in this song? And why aren’t more people purple people eaters for Halloween.

The Spooks California Boys

I’m allowed to include a song just because it has a theremin in it right? I’m really into The Spooks right now.

Warren Zevon Werewolves of London

This song features one of my favorite lyrics ever. “I saw a werewolf drinking a piña colada at Trader Vics’s, and his hair was perfect.” The piano hook has unfortunately been blatantly ripped off by some Kid Rock song, which has lead to a lot of turning up the radio followed by a feelings of disappointment. I won’t let that ruin the song for me, though.

Daniel Johnston Devil Town

Another song full of awesome spooky lyrics.

The Crazy World of Arthur Brown Fire

“I am the god of hell fire and I bring you…” my second favorite Halloween hit. I remember seeing this video in high school and being completely mesmerized by it. Dig that crazy dancing. I’m a sucker for anything with an organ though. If you want a good chuckle, check out another festive song by The Crazy World of Arthur Brown called Vampire Club.

Screamin’ Jay Hawkins I Put a Spell on You

“It’s Screamin’ Jay Hawkins, and he’s a wild man, so bug off.”
-Eva Stranger Than Paradise

This is hands down my favorite song to listen to during Halloween. It gets double points for being covered by Bette Midler in Hocus Pocus. There are about a thousand other covers of the song as well, but nothing beats Screamin’ Jay.

Oh, my! There are so many great spooky songs. I had to cut myself off.

Mary

Say Hello!

